







Nuclear Safety in Europe

Preliminary Programme

28/6

9:30 - 10:50

Opening session

The European Union provides for a collective dimension to nuclear safety of benefits to all citizens.

C. MARTÍNEZ TEN President of the Conference

President of the Spanish Nuclear Safety Council (CSN)

G. H. OETTINGER Member of the European Commission in charge of Energy

H. REUL Member of the European Parliament

Chairman of the "Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE)" Committee

PÁL KOVÁCS Deputy-Minister of State for Energy Affairs, Hungary

10:50 – 11:20 COFFEE BREAK

PRESS CONFERENCE IN PARALLEL

D. FLORY Deputy Director General of Nuclear Safety and Security,

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

L. ECHÁVARRI Director General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

A. STRITAR Chairperson of the European Nuclear Safety Regulators' Group

(ENSREG)

Director of the Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration (SNSA)

J. LAAKSONEN Chairperson of the Western European Nuclear Regulators'

Association (WENRA)

Director General of the Radiation and Nuclear Safety

Authority (STUK), Finland

12:30 - 14:30 LUNCH

ENER_Programme.indd 3 01/06/11 09.15



14:30 - 17:45

Session 1: Achievement and assessment

The common works undertaken by member States have resulted in harmonization of nuclear safety approaches. A driving force has been created that will lead to further improvement of nuclear safety, by meeting new challenges and raising new perspectives.

CHAIR: D. DRÁBOVÁ

President of the State Office for Nuclear Safety, Czech Republic

ENSREG work on improving nuclear safety

M. WEIGHTMAN

HM Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations and Head of the Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR), United Kingdom

ENSREG work on improving the safety of spent fuel and radioactive waste management

J.-P. MINON

Chairperson of the ENSREG Working Group on improving radioactive waste, spent fuel and decommissioning arrangements (WGRWMD)

Director General, Agency for radioactive waste and enriched fissile materials (ONDRAF/NIRAS), Belgium

ENSREG works on improving transparency

A. McGARRY

Vice-President of the Conference

Chief Executive, Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland (RPII)

The development and implementation of the WENRA reference level (RL) for existing Nuclear Power Plants (NPPs)

O. GUPTA

Chairperson of the Reactor Safety Harmonization Working Group (RHWG), WENRA

Deputy Director General of the French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

The development and implementation of the reference levels for waste storage facilities, decommissioning and geological disposal

S. THEIS

Chairperson of the Working Group on Waste and Decommissioning (WGWD), WENRA

Head of the Transport and Waste Treatment Department, Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI)

15:45 - 16:15

COFFFF BRFAK







Member States have integrated the progress made at international level and implemented improvements at national level.

GERMANY

G. HENNENHÖFFR

Director General, Safety of Nuclear Installations, Radiological Protection, Nuclear Fuel Cycle, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU), Germany

POLAND

J. WLODARSKI

President of the National Atomic Energy Agency

SLOVAKIA

M. ZIAKOVÁ

Chairperson of the Nuclear Regulatory Authority of the Slovak Republic (ÚJD)

A. MOLIN

Chairperson of the ENSREG Working Group on improving transparency arrangements

Director, Division of Nuclear Co-ordination, Ministry for Agriculture and Forestry, Environment and Water Management (BMLFUW), Austria

Summary by the Chairperson – Questions from the floor

29/6

Session 2: Challenges and perspectives

The European Regulatory Authorities will create new perspectives for nuclear safety by identifying ambitious challenges based on existing experience and a strong will to improve safety.

CHAIR: M. WEIGHTMAN

HM Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations and Head of the Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR), United Kingdom

Challenges to the Regulators:

- Maintaining and developing knowledge
- Human and financial resources
- Management system Safety culture
- Transparency

A.-L. EKSBORG

Director General, Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM)







Safety objectives for new reactors

O. GUPTA Chairperson of the Reactor Safety Harmonization Working

Group (RHWG), WENRA

Deputy Director General of the French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

Experience from Olkiluoto EPR

P. TIIPPANA Director of the Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Radiation and

Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland

Long term operation of NPPs

J-C. NIEL Director General, French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

Representative from U.S. NRC (TBD)

1:20 – 11:50 **COFFEE BREAK**

Safety of research reactors

P. MUSKENS Director – inspector, Department for Nuclear Safety, Security,

Safeguards and Radiation Protection, Inspectorate of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment (VROM), The Netherlands

Safe management of spent fuel and radioactive waste

A. GHEORGHE-SORESCU National Agency and for Radioactive Waste, Romania

Experience operating feed-back of NPPs

I. LUX Deputy Director General, Nuclear Safety Directorate, Hungarian Atomic Energy Authority (HAEA)

Decommissioning of NPPs

L. MATTEOCCI Head of Service for Nuclear Controls of ISPRA's Nuclear Department

12:30 - 14:30 LUNCH

14:30 - 17:50

Session 3: Panel session

Discussion with stakeholders

Fukushima consequence: EU stress tests - targeted reassessment of NPP's

CHAIR: A.-C. LACOSTE Vice-President of the Conference

Chairperson of the French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

ENER_Programme.indd 6 01/06/11 09.15







Presentations

A. STRITAR

Chairperson of the European Nuclear Safety Regulators' Group (ENSREG)

L. VANHOENACKER

European Nuclear Installations Safety Standards

Initiative (of FORATOM) (ENISS)

J. HAVERKAMP

Representative from civil society

Panellists:

Representatives from China, Russia, USA, European Commission (Philip LOWE, Director General TBC), Non governmental organizations, Friends of the Earth, European TSO Network (ETSON), European Nuclear Energy Forum (ENEF), World Nuclear Association (WNA)

The debate will focus on stakeholders expectations in the light of the messages delivered by the safety authorities and on exchanges with the audience.

17:50 - 18:20

Closure of the conference

A.-C. LACOSTE

Vice-President of the Conference

Chairperson of the French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)





						_

	ENSTREG European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group					
*	European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group					æ
•						•
					www.ensreg.eu	